Five Basic Tea Groups

Oct 15, 2022 | all things tea

Home 9 all things tea 9 Five Basic Tea Groups

What is tea? Tea is an aromatic beverage prepared by pouring boiling water over plant leaves of Camellia sinensis and called as Black tea, Green tea, Oolong tea, and White tea. TEA is an infusion prepared with any edible plant leaves, roots, fruits, bark, and seeds. These kinds of teas are known as Herbal tea.

There are five basic steps in tea processing as plucking, withering, rolling, oxidization, and drying/firing. Most of the teas are following these steps several times while some of the teas do not use all of these steps. The different type of teas at Tea Lover’s Cafe™ which includes black tea, green tea, white tea, oolong tea, and herbal tea.

Black tea – People in Asian countries are interested to consume black tea.  Black tea utilizes all the five steps of tea processing and allows complete oxidization. This black tea is produced completely within a day. The brewed liquor of black tea is between dark brown and deep red. Black tea has the strongest flavor, aroma, and astringency taste. Black tea can consume regularly with or without milk and sugar.  Regular drinking of Black tea can reduce blood pressure, the risk of stroke, blood sugar level, the risk of cancer. It has antioxidant properties as polyphenols may promote overall health.

Green tea – People in Japan, China like countries prefer to consume green tea. Plucking, withering, and rolling are the process use more green tea manufacturing. Fresh tea leaves are steamed. The high temperature will destroy the enzymes and therefore leaves became more brownish. Tea leaves are shaped by curling with fingers and press into the sides of the wok.  Leaves are rolled and swirled into different shapes and make different tastes.  Brewed liquor of green tea is in green and yellow color and has a grassy and toasty flavor. Green tea contains healthy bioactive compounds that can improve brain function, increases fat burning, protect the brain from aging, reduce bad breath, and help to prevent type 2 diabetes.

White tea – Most of the Arabic and European county people prefer to consume white tea. White tea is an unprocessed tea. Unopened or recently opened buds on the tea bush are plucked and allow withering. A drier with very low temperature can be used for this process when experiencing bad weather. Natural oxidization will happen when buds are air drying. Some white teas show the different colors of leaves as white, green, and brown. The brewed liquor of white tea is very pale green or yellow and it has the most delicate flavor and aroma. White tea is rich in antioxidant properties which can reduce the risk of heart disease, help to lose weight, help to protect teeth from Bacteria, and lower the risk of insulin resistance.

Herbal Tea – Europe country people are interested to consume herbal tea. Herbal tea is a blend of various leaves, fruits, bark, roots, and flowers. Many edible herbs and spices are used for herbal tea production. Herbal tea is rich in many antioxidants and vitamins and they are helping to protect the human body from diseases and infection.

Eg: Hibiscus tea, Rooibos tea, Lemongrass tea

Oolong Tea – Oolong teas are produced in China and Taiwan. It is a partially oxidized tea type and processed through the most difficult and time-consuming method. Tea leaves for oolong tea must be plucked when they reach their peak and should process immediately after the plucking.

Because of the high temperatures used for processing of oolong tea, it contains less moisture and has a longer shelf life. Most of the oolong teas are packed in vacuum-sealed bags to preserve their distinct aroma and quality.

Remember, Everybody Needs A Little TLC! Let’s begin or end your day with an extraordinary tea experience.

Tea Lover’s Cafe™ Team